Paris–Ooh La La!

Paris–Yep, that’s right!  We will be smack dab in the middle of Paris!  We leave Saturday morning, Sept. 6th.  And yes, I’m very excited about it.  I can’t believe that I will actually be spending 4 weeks in Paris!  We have checked out the website for the hotel we will be staying in and it says that it is a historic hotel right in the center of the 3 sections of Paris and it HAS FREE INTERNET!  That means I will be able to get online to send e-mails and pictures, as well as be able to get onto my SparkPeople Team!  It also means that if we purchase a sling box this week (a device that connects the DVR to the computer), we will be able to watch English speaking TV on our computer, which means I will be able to watch The Biggest Loser Couples show, along with my teammates.  For anyone interested–the new season is  family couples and premieres on Sept. 16th.  My SP team is based on the TV show–we have challenges and team competitions along with the show.  It helps motivate us and helps make this weight loss journey a little more fun!  My ‘journey’ has been on a bit of a standstill for the past months and I’m hoping to give it a jump-start when the show resumes, so I can get my last 20 pounds gone.

Jon comes home tomorrow!  I’m looking forward to a week and a half with my husband at home!  We are both very tired of this separation stuff!  We are ready to be doing stuff together again…  This Friday we will be going to the Phantom of the Opera with some of our kids and friends!  We are going to get all dressed up and spend the night on the town!  Celebrate!  I will make sure we get some pictures so we can get them on the Internet.  I bought a new lavender formal that was on clearance after prom season with no idea when I would wear it, but it was my color and my size and it was under $20, so I decided I HAD to buy it!  I guess you could say it had my name on it–LOL  (I think it would also make a nice ‘Waltzing dress’)  And yesterday while shopping with my friend Maryann for some black shoes for her to wear to Phantom, I found shoes on sale for only $10–a black pair for her & a pair of sparkling (spell check didn’t like sparkly-LOL) silver shoes for me–and they were both $10 each!  So, we are ready to go out in style!

Our friend Carrie –I’m very sad to say that we received an email Sunday evening telling us:  On Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 11:05 AM, Carrie finished the race and is now resting in the loving arms of her Lord and Savior,Jesus Christ.  She put up a great fight but in the end lost her battle to lung cancer.’  Carrie was a wonderful woman whom I admired very much and she will be missed in so many ways.  As I told Gary (her husband), Carrie was not the type of woman to sit back and wait for others to do things–she was the type who got up and made sure it happened.  She loved the Lord and she loved Marriage Encounter and her church (Calvary Chapel Oregon City) and she was also involved with the Chamber of Commerce in Oregon City.  We were hoping to visit her after Jon got home on Wednesday, but that wasn’t to be and now we are going to miss her memorial service, since we will be ‘in the air’ on our way to Paris the same day.  So, I guess we will have to wave our goodbyes to her from the air, as we pray for the service that she will be able to continue to touch lives in her death as she did in her life.  I’m sure that this service will be a ‘celebration of her life’.  I’m so glad to have had the pleasure of knowing Carrie and being able to call her my friend.  It was such an honor to have walked the ‘Survivor’s Lap’ in the Oregon City Relay for Life this past month, which was my last time to see her.  Carrie had decorated a luminary with my name (purple of course) to place with the hundreds of others around the track that night which really touched me!  I love you Carrie and will miss you so much!  Please continue to pray for Gary and family, as they go through this time of taking care of all the details that one has following a death and that God will give him peace and rest…

Until next time…
Vicki (& Jon too)

Leave a comment

Filed under Vicki's Blogs and Writings

Leave a Reply

